Björk unveils album cover and release date for ‘utopia’

Björk has revealed the album art for her upcoming ninth studio album ‘utopia’, which is set to be released on 24th November.


‘utopia’ is the follow-up to 2015’s ‘Vulnicura’. Whilst her previous album was a break-up record, Björk has described this album as her “Tinder album”.

The cover art was designed by Arca and FKA twigs collaborator Jesse Kanda who has previously designed the covers for FKA twigs’ ‘LP1’ and Arca’s self-titled album released earlier this year.

The silicon facepiece was provided by James Merry, and Berlin drag artist Hungry is responsible for Björk’s incredible make-up here. Björk’s hair, styled by Raphael Salley, has proved to be divisive with fans.

The lead single for ‘utopia’, titled “The Gate”, was released earlier this month. ‘utopia’ has been revealed to contain fourteen tracks, and although the tracklist has not yet been officially announced, fans may have sleuthed the list based on a Japanese promotional poster.

Listen to ‘the gate’ below and check out the potential tracklist for ‘utopia’ which drops later this month.

  1. arisen my senses
  2. blissing me
  3. the gate
  4. utopia
  5. body memory
  6. features creatures
  7. courtship
  8. loss
  9. sue me
  10. tabula rasa
  11. claimstaker
  12. paradisia
  13. saint
  14. future forever